VirtueScience You are here: Index location Character Improvement location Virtue List location Honesty

Honesty

Honesty Quotes

"Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom."
Thomas Jefferson, American president (1743-1826)

"Make yourself an honest man and then you may be sure there is one rascal less in the world."
Thomas Carlyle, British essayist (1795-1881)

"We should stop kidding ourselves. We should let go of things that arenít true. Itís always better with the truth."
Buckminster Fuller, American architect (1895-1983)

"I hope I shall possess firmness and virtue enough to maintain, what I consider the most enviable of all titles, the character of an Ďhonest man.í Your honesty influences others to be honest."
George Washington, American president (1732-1799)

Virtue List | Random Virtue

Honesty Definition: Truthful; sincere; not lying or cheating.

Etymology of 'Honesty'
Honest: c.1300, "respectable, decent, of neat appearance," also "free from fraud," from Old French honeste (12c.; Modern French honnÍte), from Latin honestus "honorable, respected, regarded with honor," figuratively "deserving honor, honorable, respectable," from honos.

Positive Suggestions:
"Awaken your natural Honesty"
"Perfect Honesty is within you"
"Allow yourself to feel Honest now"
"Accept Honesty"
"Trust in your Honesty"
Virtue List | Random Virtue



You are here: Index location Character Improvement location Virtue List location Honesty
Results for honesty

Radical Honesty: How to Transform Your Life by Telling the Truth
by Brad BlantonSearch for Brad Blanton
$15.00
$2.03 new/used

The first edition of Radical Honesty became a nationwide best seller in 1995 because it was not a kinder, gentler self-help book. It was a shocker! In it, Dr. Brad Blanton, a psychotherapist and expert on stress management, explored the myths, superstitions and lies by which we all live. And this newly revised edition is even worse! Blanton shows us how stress comes not from the environment, but from the self-built jail of the mind. What keeps us in our self-built jails is lying. "We all lie like hell," Dr. Blanton says. "It wears us out...it is the major source of all human stress. It kills us." Not telling our friends, lovers, spouses, or bosses about what we do, feel, or think keeps us locked in that mind jail. The way out is to get good at telling the truth, and Dr. Blanton provides the tools we can use to escape from that jail of the mind. This book is the cake with the file in it. In Radical Honesty, Dr. Blanton coaches us on how to have lives that work, how to have relationships that are alive and passionate, and how to create intimacy where none exists. As we have been taught by the philosophical and spiritual sources of our culture for thousands of years, from Plato to Nietzsche, from the Bible to Emerson, the truth shall set you free.
Click Here to Learn More

Living the Truth: Transform Your Life Through the Power of Insight and Honesty
by Keith AblowSearch for Keith Ablow
$16.00
$0.01 new/used

For anyone stuck in a bad relationship, for anyone trapped in a job that's unfulfilling, for anyone who drinks too much or uses food as a drug, for anyone whose lifelong dreams have fallen by the wayside-here's help.

Renowned psychiatrist Dr. Keith Ablow offers surprising and effective new strategies for turning the pain of the past into the power of the future. Drawing on more than 15 years of clinical experience, he presents case studies that reveal how ignoring painful memories can negatively affect every aspect of our lives. Acknowledging that examining the past can be daunting, he presents ideas and exercises that are as comforting and rewarding as they are redemptive. Through Ablow's storytelling skills, empathetic voice, and straight-up advice, the experience of reading this book becomes the first step to a brilliant life.
Click Here to Learn More

The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves
by Dan ArielySearch for Dan Ariely
$15.99
$5.42 new/used

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders? extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle?and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals?honestly?what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.


Click Here to Learn More

Honesty: Werewolf BBW Romance (Running With Alphas Book 2)
by Viola RivardSearch for Viola Rivard

Book #2 of Running With Alphas...



Hale isn?t even remotely interested in Taylor?at least that?s what he keeps telling her. But that doesn?t explain why he keeps turning up everywhere she goes and why he can?t seem to keep his hands off her.

As Taylor struggles to maintain her new relationship with Alder, Hale threatens to drive a wedge between them. But is it because he wants her gone, or because he wants her for himself?

This is the second book in an ongoing story. It is not a standalone.
Click Here to Learn More

Practicing Radical Honesty: How to Complete the Past, Live in the Present, and Build a Future with a Little Help from Your Friends
by Brad Dr. BlantonSearch for Brad Dr. Blanton
$15.00
$2.46 new/used

Blunt, shocking and sometimes profane, this exciting book blasts self-help and feel-good remedies to expose the lies with which we imprison ourselves. It talks straight, hard and true to the heart of the human condition, pulling no punches. It gives us simple yet revolutionary tools to break out of our minds and into a direct and immediate perception of exactly where we are - then shows us how we can together create a world that works for everyone. The book is divided into five sections: 1. True Individuality 2. Community and Compassion 3. Creating Your Own Destiny 4. How To Speak and Listen Your Projects Into Reality 5. Paradigms And Contexts: The Revolution of Consciousness as Political Change
Click Here to Learn More

What Do You Stand For? For Kids: A Guide to Building Character
by Barbara A. LewisSearch for Barbara A. Lewis
$14.99
$5.94 new/used

Even elementary school children can build positive character traits like caring, citizenship, cooperation, courage, fairness, honesty, respect, and responsibility. The true stories, inspiring quotations, thought-provoking dilemmas, and activities in this book help kids grow into capable, moral teens and adults. Previously titled Being Your Best, this award-winning book has a fresh new cover and updated resources.

Click Here to Learn More

Models: Attract Women Through Honesty
by Mark MansonSearch for Mark Manson
$12.95
$11.66 new/used

"A detailed guide to modern sexual interactions." ~ The Sydney Morning Herald

Models is the first men's dating book ever written on seduction as a purely emotional process rather than a logical one, a process of connecting with women rather than impressing them, a process of self-expression rather than manipulation. It's the most mature and honest guide on how a man can attract women without faking behavior, without lying and without emulating others. A game-changer.

Inside, you'll learn:
  • The root behaviors that cause all female attraction.
  • Why typical dating advice and pick up theory is counter-productive in the long-run.
  • How to overcome nervousness and anxiety around attractive women.
  • How any man can make himself appear attractive with a little time and effort.
  • The three keys to keeping conversations with women interesting and engaging.
  • How to discover the beliefs and attitudes that are sabotaging your success with women.
  • How to develop a genuine and joyful sense of humor.
And much more...

"I want to tell you that you're probably one of the few people who really got "it" figured out. I'm only half-way through your book, and it's unbelievable how everything is making so much sense to me. Everytime I read something in your book I can relate it to some encounter I had with a girl, I now understand why I succeeded at times and failed at another. Especially the part about vulnerability. Even if I did not read the rest of the book, I already got what I paid for. Thank you Mark."

- Yousif

"I just finished your book today, "Models," and wanted to tell you that your presentation of the subject is far to superior to anything else I've read.

I've been involved with seduction since 2006 and I've consumed a lot dating products. Many try to make their readers into "pickup artists" - today I gag at the term.†But you don't do that. I like how spend so much time in the book reinforcing the fact that we are good human beings at our core and it's a matter of presenting ourselves honestly, without apology to everyone we encounter. And you give the reader the tools to strip away all the disguises that other seduction gurus have said we need to wear at all times.

Thanks. Can't wait to meet women today with these new eyes."


- Robert
Click Here to Learn More

The Berenstain Bears and the Truth
by Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain
$3.99
$0.01 new/used

When Brother and Sister Bear accidentally break Mama's favorite lamp, their little lie grows bigger and bigger, until Papa Bear helps them find the words that set everything right again.
Click Here to Learn More

Howard B. Wigglebottom and the Monkey on His Back: A Tale About Telling the Truth
by Howard BinkowSearch for Howard Binkow
$15.00
$10.13 new/used

Knowing lying is wrong, Howard chose to do it anyways. Why not? It was easy and he got away with it most of the time. This book for children age 4 and up explains reasons people lie, why they shouldn't, and how to go about making the right choices. Tips and lessons are included. The sixth book in the award winning Howard B. Wigglebottom series. Teacher and counselor endorsed. For reviews and free, fun resources that support the book, visit the We Do Listen Foundation website at wedolisten (dot) org.
Click Here to Learn More

Page 1 of 323
Next

Top | Established 2002. Copyright © 2014 - All Rights Reserved - VirtueScience.com | Privacy Policy | About | Contact | Top
Please JoinMessageBoardPlease Join

Please note the advertisements on this page may not reflect the views of the webmaster.